Mayhem claim President's Cup Championship with sweep of Peoria

The Macon Mayhem win their first ever SPHL title with a 2-1 win over the Peoria Rivermen in game 2 of the President's Cup Finals. (Mason Prince, WGXA)

MACON, GA -- For the first time in team history, the President's Cup comes to Middle Georgia.

The Macon Mayhem earned their first SPHL Championship with a 2-1 win Sunday evening over the Peoria Rivermen sweeping the best-of-three series 2-0.

Dennis Sicard and Jake Trask scored for the Mayhem who held the Rivermen scoreless through the final two periods of play.

Goaltender Jordan Ruby was named the series' most valuable player after holding the potent Rivermen offense to just two goals in two games, saving 64 of 66 shots in the series.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off