Georgia governor declares state of emergency in six coastal counties ahead of Irma

In this geocolor image captured by GOES-16 and released by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), Hurricane Irma, a potentially catastrophic category 5 hurricane, moves westward, Tuesday morning, Sept. 5, 2017, in the Atlantic Ocean toward the Leeward Islands. This image was captured as daylight moves into the area, right, with nighttime features on the left side of the image. Hurricane Irma grew into a dangerous Category 5 storm, the most powerful seen in the Atlantic in over a decade, and roared toward islands in the northeast Caribbean Tuesday on a path that could eventually take it to the United States. (NOAA via AP)

ATLANTA, Ga. - Gov. Nathan Deal has declared a state of emergency for six of Georgia's coastal counties ahead of Hurricane Irma.

The counties covered in the state of emergency include Bryan, Camden, Chatham, Glynn, Liberty and McIntosh County.

“Ahead of Hurricane Irma, I’ve issued an executive order prohibiting price gouging and waiving rules and regulations for motor vehicles transporting supplies, equipment, personnel, goods and services associated with disaster assistance and relief,” said Deal in a statement Wednesday afternoon. "This state of emergency also ensures aid for the six counties potentially impacted by this catastrophic storm. We will continue monitoring Hurricane Irma’s path in the days ahead and coordinating with our federal, state and local partners. I urge Georgians in the affected counties to remain vigilant and be prepared."

Shelters have already begun to open across the state, including the Atlanta Motor Speedway and the Georgia National Fairgrounds.

For more information on how to be prepared in the event of a disaster, click here.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off