36 local players to play in GACA All-Star Game

Players from the junior South team gear up for one last practice before taking on the North team at Freedom Field/(Cam Gaskins, WGXA)

WARNER ROBINS, Ga. -- Every year after the season ends, the Georgia Athletic Coaches' Association selects some of the best players from north Georgia and south Georgia and puts them against each other in a Peach State showcase.

This year, 29 players from middle Georgia teams were selected to play in the GACA North-South All-Star Game.

12 sophomores were selected to represent the south on the sophomores team.

  • Houston County- RB Wesley Steiner, QB Max Rigby, C Conner Griffin, and DT Tylon Chambers.
  • Warner Robins- WR Devin Brown, Marcayll Jones.
  • Peach County- LB Sergio Allen, WR Noah Whittington
  • Twiggs County- CB Titonio Smith
  • Mary Persons- G Nate Howard
  • Westside WR Jaylon Barden
  • Jone County- DT Garrett Baughman

The sophomores also feature some local coaches. Northeast Macon's Ashley Harden will be on staff as a wide receiver's coach, Mary Person's Brian Nelson will be the defensive backs coach, and Perry's Michael Lee will be the defensive line coach.

12 juniors were chosen to play for the juniors team.

  • Warner Robins- QB Dylan Fromm
  • Northside WR- K Cory Munson, CB William McCall
  • Mary Persons- S Antoine Davis, LB Ladamian Sands
  • Howard- LB DeAndre Shelton
  • Peach County- OL Cedric Hillsman
  • Perry- WR Davion Ross
  • Bleckely County- RB Nykeem Farrow, LS Zach Lassiter
  • Jones County- LB Jadarien Boykin, T Trey Bonner

Local coaches for this team include Peach County's Chad Campbell as head coach and Todd Cooper as offensive line coach, and Houston County's Rod Harris as defensive backs coach.

And 12 seniors will also represent middle Georgia on the seniors' team.

  • Perry- RB Jaqueveon Watkins, CB Jacory Burks
  • Westide- TE Omar Jones
  • Northside WR- CB Alijah McGhee, LB Kameron Tate
  • Mary Persons- S Tre Slayton, LB Jatorian Hansford
  • Peach County- LB JaQuez Jackson
  • Veterans- WR Jeremy Horton
  • Warner Robins- DE Bobby Kelly
  • Upson-Lee- DT Jayden Barron
  • Bleckely County- WR Torenio Davis

The sophomores game will start at 11:00 a.m., the juniors play at 3:00 p.m., and the seniors play at 7:00 p.m. All games will be played at Houston County's Freedom Field. Tickets are $10 and parking is $5.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off