President Waugh excited for 2017 Hall of Fame Induction

Georgia Sports Hall of Fame President talks induction weekend for the 2017 class. /(Luke Hetrick, WGXA)

A busy seven months for new Georgia Sports Hall of Fame President Derek Waugh culminates with the hall's biggest event of the year this weekend.

The first year President will finally see the 2017 Hall of Fame class inducted Saturday night at City Auditorium.

A former basketball coach at Stetson University and Athletic Director at Dalton State, Waugh accepted the HOF's President title in the summer.

He's looking forward to a busy weekend in Macon but says he's excited to see many of his contemporaries receive their induction.

The 2017 Georgia Sports Hall of Fame Class includes:

Keith Brooking
Laura Coble
Manuel Diaz
Willie Gault
Matt Harpring
Garrison Hearst
Liz Murphrey
Jeff Saturday

The 2017 class induction will take place at 6:30 p.m. Saturday night at the Macon City Auditorium.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off